Play Online Poker
Poker in the Pub Live Pub Poker

Dusk Till Dawn Poker League G Final

Dusk Till Dawn Poker League G Final, Sunday 19th Jan 2014-01-21

We saw another impressive full house this Sunday for the League G finals. Thanks to everyone for a great turn out!

For starters I’d like to say well done to Justin Nussey who won the Online Champion of Champions tournament. Justin, a representative of Mansfield Town, collected the first trophy of the day along with his £60 prize.

The first, tongue in cheek, congratulations go to The Greyhound from Claydon, who managed to travel 160 miles for this week’s finals. Unfortunately they were 7 days early, but fret not they all got a game to thank them for their dedication.

The second congrats goes to Ted O’Keefe from The Fox Hotel, he was the first person out and the round of applause from the rest of the field was ringing in his ears as he made his way out of the tournament area.

We pride ourselves on rewarding our organisers. Each of our venue organisers takes part in their own comp where the winner and runner up both win a prize. It got underway at 6pm and ended when Sam Brown, of Bar Rosso, beat Debbie Percy from The Crown Inn heads up. Sam won a £150 Deepstack seat with Debbie taking home the runner up prize of a Super 50 entry.

Then onto the Main Event:

The final paid 36 runners, which meant Duncan Cadman was the unlucky 37th placed finisher who can now be nicknamed ‘Bubble Boy.’

As the players crossed the line into the money we began to work out who was in contention for the best performing venue. This was won by The Raven with finishing places including 33rd, 31st, 6th and 5th. They win a trophy for the venue on top of their prize money.

The field thinned down till we were at the final table bubble. It was bad luck for Alison Marriot, from Hunstanton, in 10th and Jamie Robinson from Felixstowe who finished 9th.

We were down to the Final 8 on the feature table that lined up like this:

Seat 1. William Whelley (Railway Inn)
Seat 2. Caroline Dobson (Teversal)
Seat 3. Dominic Hazlett (Raven)
Seat 4. Richard Hughes (Raven)
Seat 5. John Seeley (Felixstowe)
Seat 6. Nigel Symons (Cricketer’s Rest)
Seat 7. Dean Whitwell (George)
Seat 8. Brian Koegelenburgh (Hawthorns)

Brian was stood in good stead as he was chip leader as the final table commenced. Unfortunately Dean Whitwell in seat 7 was the shortie and didn’t last long as his stack was called off.

Another short stack, William Whelley fell next and made his was to the cash desk to collect his prize.

The Raven had already sealed the best performing venue trophy which was reflected with two members at the final table. Unfortunately for them, and their support on the rail, Dom and Rich finished 5th and 6th respectively, going out in the same hand!

This left the final four to fight it out. Brian and Caroline both had healthy stacks and it was only a matter of time till they locked horns. On a flop of 5 6 9 Brian had bottom two while Caroline held J 9 of diamonds for top pair and a flush draw. The turn proved to be her saving grace as another diamond fell and she faded the river. Brian finished 4th and can be very happy with his performance.

Caroline used the huge stack to her advantage and added further to it when she eliminated Jon Seeley from Felixstowe in third.

That left Nigel as the last man standing to try and peg back Caroline. As the final table ebbed and flowed he looked set to do just that. He went on a decent run and looked set to take a massive advantage when he got A 10 in against Caroline’s J 10. A J high board had other ideas and Caroline Dobson from Teversal was our winner.

She collected over £1500, her winner’s trophy and the accolade of being our first ever female winner! Commiserations to Nigel who still gets his runner up trophy and just shy of £900! Not bad for a days work.

Overall this was another great finals day for all involved including me. I always find it a pleasure rather than a chore and would like to thank you all for your involvement in the league and your turnout on the day.

Congratulations to everyone who took part, especially our winners who are both now eligible to buy into our all new LIVE Champion of Champions game at the club that will have a £10,000 prizepool!

Furthermore we will be running our Team Event this year. This has been tweaked slightly as per your requests; after all this is your league.

There are newsletters being handed out at the club and emailed to organisers with more info regarding this years events as well as our new Grand Prix promotion.

The Poker League Last Longer:
The Poker league player who lasts the longest in the upcoming DTD Grand Prix will win a Poker League VIP package worth nearly £400!
This includes:
A FREE entry into the new LIVE Champion of Champions
A FREE team entry into this year’s Team Event
An XXL25 entry valid for 120 days
£60 of DTD vouchers to spend on food, drink or merchandise.

Regardless of how you qualify or enter the Grand Prix you will be involved just by contacting or I before the event.

Another great benefit of being a Poker League player! I’d like to thank you all again for your support and hope to see you all again soon. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Cheers, Dave.

Posted on 24th January @ 17:16

« Back to Dave's Blog